Gluten Free Oat Cakes

Oatcakes are a great alternative to crackers.  I find that the oats fill you up quicker than other crackers and therefore you need to eat less of them.  For many years I had excluded gluten free oats from my diet as I thought that I was intolerant.  It turns out, it was the milk in the porridge was causing a reaction and not the oats, so I’m really enjoying having them back in my diet.  They are a fantastic snack with cheese, hummus, or as an accompaniment to your salad or in your packed lunch.  I found it next to impossible to find gluten free and dairy free shop bought oat cakes, so I decided to make my own.  Nairns gluten free oat products are really wonderful if you can get them, however any of their products that I looked at were unsuitable for those with dairy allergies.  Hence, I decided to give my own a bash.

Dry Ingredients

225g Gluten Free Oats

60g Gluten Free Flour – I used Doves Farm

1 teaspoon of salt

half teaspoon of baking soda

Wet Ingredients

60g Dairy Free Spread or Butter if you’re not dairy intolerant

80-100 ml of Warm Water

Method

Pre-heat your oven to 190 degrees centigrade for a regular oven or 180 for a fan oven.

Mix all of your dry ingredients together.

Gluten Free Dairy Free Oat Cake Recipe

Gluten Free Dairy Free Oat Cake Recipe

Gradually add your butter or spread in and mix.  It will still seem like a dry mix after doing this, so don’t worry too much.  It may appear like breadcrumbs.

Gradually add the water until the mixture comes together in a ball.

Prepare your work surface with some flour and roll the dough out until it’s approximately half a centimetre thick.

Gluten Free Dairy Free Oat Cake Recipe

Gluten Free Dairy Free Oat Cake Recipe

I didn’t have a cookie cutter but managed to find a glass that was the right size.

Gluten Free Dairy Free Oat Cake Recipe

Gluten Free Dairy Free Oat Cake Recipe

Place these on a baking tray.  From this mixture I managed to get 14-16 oatcakes.  After cutting out the first batch, I re-rolled the dough and got a few more.  I then shaped the last couple by hand.

Gluten Free Dairy Free Oat Cake Recipe

Gluten Free Dairy Free Oat Cake Recipe

Bake these in your preheated oven for about 25 minutes or until they are golden brown.  Let them cool before storing.  Or, if you’re like me, you’ll just have to sample them as they come straight out of the oven.

Gluten Free Dairy Free Oatcakes

Gluten Free Dairy Free Oatcakes

Yes, burnt tongue, but so worth it.  I’m trying to let the rest cool before smothering with hummus!

Leave a Reply

