Firstly, wishing you a belated happy and healthy new year and much happiness for 2015.

I really want to apologise for my absence on my food blog.  This is in part due to having a crappy spell of not so great health.  However, I’m back now and feeling great.

In December, I found out that I am completely Dairy Intolerant.  Prior to this I’d had a string of health problems.  I’d been to consultants, dieticians, GPs with a wide and varied list of complaints.  Mostly I was in constant pain, my digestive tract felt permanently aggravated, bloated and I was feeling pretty sorry for myself.  In the past 12 months I fasted, I had scopes, I discussed my diet, I’d had MRIs on my sinuses and in general had brain fog and lacked energy.

I had a whole list of foods that I thought that I was reacting too.  Everything from nuts, potatoes, white rice, eggs, apples, mangoes, rice cakes, corn, gluten free oats and even tea and coffee.  Not until I kept a very detailed food diary did I consider that I might be allergic to dairy.  At most, I thought maybe lactose. On the upside, all the above foods are back in the edible category 🙂

I love, love, love dairy.  I only ever used real butter, no spreads for me!  I never used anything other than whole milk, none of that watery stuff in this house!  I used double cream in chowders, I used creme fraiche at every opportunity in cooking, homemade white sauce for lasagne and don’t even start me on my favourite gluten free Ben and Jerry’s.  I even supplemented my greek yoghurt with whey protein after a weights session in the gym.  It’s no wonder I need to exercise as much as I do 🙂

After a GP referral, I got a blood test carried out in a reputable allergy clinic.  This happened in November and in December I received the result that I’m completely dairy intolerant.  I was told that dairy was just sitting in my gut and I can’t digest it, hence so much bloating (not a post meal full belly bloat but a 7 months pregnant bloat).  I am also allergic to brewer’s yeast and baker’s yeast.  That means I’m unable to eat many gluten free breads, cakes and biscuits.  I can eat BFree as all their products are dairy free and their wraps have no yeast.  It also means that I can no longer enjoy gluten free beer and most cider.  I have found that Orpen’s cider ferment their apples naturally and don’t use yeast.  I think, so don’t quote me just yet! Alpro is also my new best friend.

So, forgive my absence.  I’ve had a lot to get my head around.  I’m still on a steep learning curve on completely re-educating myself.  I’m trying to cook for a young family, without cutting their dairy as I still think that it’s an important food group for young, growing bones.  So, bear with me folks…I promise to try and get some more gluten free recipes up in the near future.

On the positive side of things, I know exactly what I can and can’t eat now.  I’m still making mistakes, but learning along the way.  I feel a whole lot better and I’m much more confident with my food.  I’ve more energy and I’m doing lots of walking and weights in the gym.  My energy is back where I feel it should be.

In the meantime, feel free to chat on Facebook and Twitter.

Best wishes and I’ll be back really soon with some tantalising gluten free recipes.

Judith  🙂

M.I.A no more – Back for 2015

Leave a Reply

